PDA

View Full Version : portfolios.com


sakura
12-06-2007, 13:30
hi everyone

i'm wondering what you think of this

www.portfolios.com

they phoned me and spent an hour trying to talk me into joining
and it's not cheap either

have you been contacted by these people, would you join, do you think it's all ********?

they were very pushy

part of me is thinking - if it's that good why are they rummaging about the web picking people out?

hmmmm :help: :shrug: :suspect:

thanks for reading this :)

Ian T
12-06-2007, 13:57
If they phoned you and it costs money, then it sounds like some kind of sales pitch. Unless it's something you really want/need, I'd avoid it.

sakura
12-06-2007, 14:17
thanks Ian

:O)

dougdarter
12-06-2007, 14:25
I've just had a look at the site. For the price, it is pretty tacky, and the maximum number of images allowed in your portfolio is only 20!!

It is definitely NOT worth the money.

sakura
12-06-2007, 14:28
phew! thanks for the response

and now the other people on the forum will be aware of them - if they ever pounce

Messiah Khan
12-06-2007, 14:31
That just looks nasty tbh. You'd be far better off getting some cheap webspace and hosting your own site, or simply sign up to something like Deviantart or Flickr.

petemc
12-06-2007, 14:34
I got a call from them a few months back. It was a bit strange. I was at the beach eating an ice-cream and some guy from Toronto calls. I said it wasn't a good time :D I discussed things with him at a later date and decided I'd give it some thought. I think it was £200 for their best package. In the end I decided that was £200 I couldn't really spare. He tried to spin me around and get me to buy it but as you say, it does feel like a sales pitch. You can sign up for free I think and get a basic listing on their site. It did feel cool to have some guy in Toronto call me up though :)

sakura
12-06-2007, 14:37
they are very good at the flattrery thing saying

'your work is of exceptional high quality - what are you doing to market yourself?'

Ian T
12-06-2007, 14:38
On the whole I avoid anything that is offered to me for sale over the phone. As sakura suggested, they're obviously trying to fill up their site. I tend to go and look for things as I need them. If someone offers me something I hadn't thought of before, I'd rather take down a contact number/website, go off and research the product/service and it's alternatives and get back to them if necessary.

And £200 does sound a lot for it...

sakura
12-06-2007, 14:44
i think it's bad to try and force a product onto people

and yes it is very expensive too

petemc
12-06-2007, 14:53
they are very good at the flattrery thing saying

'your work is of exceptional high quality - what are you doing to market yourself?'

That they are. They did make me want to sign up but I just don't trust salesmen.

moomike
12-06-2007, 16:55
I got stung by them when I was just beginning my illustration work & went for one of the packages (how young & naieve I was :lol:) Really pushy salesmen, really bad support & they really really don't like to cancel accounts (I had to threaten with legal action before they finally relented)
Avoid if I were you.

petemc
12-06-2007, 16:56
Ouch. Glad I did.