PDA

View Full Version : New Scam involving TNT?


Phil T
01-11-2007, 09:24
Most people are aware of the Western Union scams - this looks like a new one (I emailed this person from Gumtree - be very wary of that site unless buying in person as I have actually done):

Hello,

I'm currently located in Roma, Italy. I want to point out that because i am in the process of moving because of changing my working place, i am after a fast transaction, with no delays. That is why i decided to lower the price, to avoid wasting time with negotiations and find a buyer as soon as possible.
For avoid any suspicions in this deal i am thinking to use a COD system offered by TNT company.
You don`t need to worry about the shipping fees because i will support the taxes for sending the package to you.
For understanding how the COD system offered by the TNT company works, i`ll try to explain you in a few words:
in the first time i will need your name and address for i can proceed with the delivery.
The package will be inspected by the TNT company. After that they will give me a tracking number. With this tracking number you can verify online on their website the status of the delivery.
You will be contacted by the TNT company and you will send the payment to their company when the delivery will be confirmed to you.
After you will receive and inspect the package, the TNT company will contact me and will send me the payment for the camera.
I forgot to mention that i think the delivery time is about 2-3 days.
So, if you are agree with my terms, please send me your complete name and address for i can proceed with the delivery.

Thank you.

PS:let me know if you want more details or pictures.

Anyone seen this variant?

Phil

mattyh
01-11-2007, 09:31
Scam... Pass their details to me if you want, I can have some fun with them ;)

I bait these gits for fun :D

It'll most likely be a fake TNT site.

badgerbaiter
01-11-2007, 09:44
it could be completely legit.
most couriers offer COD.
You just pay the courier when the parcel gets to you.

You could just let him send it, and then when you see the link, check to see if it really is TNT or a phishing site.

But its 99% likely to be a scam, as its been done before.

http://www.scamvictimsunited.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=12114&sid=a804c23b7f7ae98e013af019d9d004ec

Phil T
01-11-2007, 09:50
Here's but 2 from Gumtree - all still active:
http://www.gumtree.com/london/55/15275955.html
http://www.gumtree.com/london/08/15357008.html
The other 2 I've found have been deleted...Go have some fun!!!

mattyh
01-11-2007, 10:54
I've just got exactly the same message from one of the ad's in post #3...

Marcel
01-11-2007, 10:59
Its a complete scam. I've never heard anyone call it "the TNT company" for start.
I think from what he describes, he's saying TNT are acting as an intermediary, passing on payment when the package is confirmed as OK.

Scammity scammerooooo.

mattyh
01-11-2007, 11:01
I'm just arranging a meeting in Roma ;)

of course, when the meeting comes, my flight will have had to divert to Naples or somewhere else :lol:

theMusicMan
01-11-2007, 11:44
I'm just arranging a meeting in Roma ;)

of course, when the meeting comes, my flight will have had to divert to Naples or somewhere else :lol:Ooooh, wicked... but great! Keep us informed Matty yeah :thumbs: