Weddings

Status
Not open for further replies.
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi everyone!

I was asked to shoot a wedding this august. It will be my first....it actually is a co-worker of mine. He is aware that I have not done weddings but has seen my work and was quite happy to have me as the photographer.

I need some help here as I have never done a wedding before. I own a Nikon d300s.

1.What suggested lens would be best for a job like this?

2. What tools should I bring along with me in aside from my camera?(should I bring a tripod,a flash strobe?-as I do not have SB flashes)

They do not want the traditional style wedding images but more of images that are just taken as the moments happens...no posed stuff.

I was thinking of buying an sb light so I can have it to use on my camera or a strobe .

Also as to what you offer? The budget is 1250$ Do you have any packages you yourselves use that can help me create one to offer? Any suggestions tips, please I would love your input.

:0:)

Good luck with this 'N' - hope you own a kevlar vest as you're gonna need it pretty soon...
Non-professionals covering weddings for friends or colleagues is practically the most contentious issue amongst photographers today...

I'm unclear from your post but I think it's unusual to charge £1250 for a wedding if you've never shot one before, or assisted as a second shooter. Of course your choice :)

I tried to take some shots of an event for work is fairly dark light, and I have to say I'm glad there was no pressure to actually get any shots. It made me realise I needed better glass, better technique and more importantly made me realise I really didn't know what I was doing in terms of positioning myself for shots. I'll stick to taking pictures of birds for now!

I'm not going to tell you to do this or not, however I imagine the pressure of doing a wedding when you have the skills and experience is still huge, without both I would be turning my pants nice and brown....