Review [Review] - Amateur review of LED Macro "flash" (Ring48)

Name
John
Edit My Images
Yes
Afternoon all,

Firstly I'll start of with a vital facts.
  • I'm fairly new to DSLRs and haven't yet won the lottery so I try out cheepie things from ebay, in short I've never used the big expensive kit to compare it against.
  • This is NOT a flash no matter how it is described, it is just on or not at the flick of a switch, so is not triggered by the camera. Sort of obvious but where I've seen complaints on Amazon its usually because they did not read the description.
  • This was posted on another forum, but as I find myself drawn more and more to using here as my main source of info I thought I would post it here for you guys, but also bear in mind I originally wrote this in July and since then I sold a kidney, lung, children and bought some stuff ;)
Anyway on to the review.

The first thing that surprised me was that it came in a big shiny box (I'm used to things chucked in a jiffy bag!).

4811832529_2cc4f45c29_z.jpg

Here are a couple more unboxing shots so you can see what you get.

4811834055_925366cbae_z.jpg

4811835461_b4a9dac48a_z.jpg

The box contents are:

The ring itself
Six ring adapters (49, 52, 55, 58, 62 & 67mm) - which is handy as it for my DCR250 as well as my normal lenses
A power supply for mains connection when in the studio/home, but it does run on 2xAA batteries.

Now for a bit of the back of the box fluff:

Effective Distance: 1.1" to 40" (3cm - 100cm)
Power Rate: Semi, Full (I think this means that it can do full ring or left/right sides independently)
Service Time: 1.5 hours
LED: 48
Colour Temp: 5500K +- 6500K

Okay now on with some a few actual images and a brief precursor.

Other than adding a signature and some exif data these images have not been modified at all, so hopefully reflect what you'd get, but as I was in AP mode some of the settings adjusted (hence adding the exif data)

For the most part I'll let the images do the talking.