Total beginner: How do I setup basics using speed lights?

Name
Bal Sanghera
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi guys I went on bit of a shopping spree on Amazon and dont know what to do now lol :bang: got a bit carried away and ended up buying:

2x Yonguno YN460-II
31QuCvuIEEL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

1x Yonguno RF-602 + 3 X Receivers
41K7sln1rYL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

2x Konig Photography Light Stand
31W0PItEW8L._SL500_AA300_.jpg

2x 33" White Brollies
21oBq%2BhhrrL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

2x Interfit Strobies Umbrella Holder with Hotshoe Adapter STR117
419-dz1j3pL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

I also have a Canon 580EX II, I was going to post in talk basics section as "Absolutely no question is too silly or basic for us in here" but thought would get a better response in here...

I dont really know what my question is :thinking: I guess I want to know is firstly how to get it all working together as for some reason when I connected the two Yonguno flash guns to the recievers both had to be set to M instead S1 and S2.

Also how should I go about using the stands and brollies? Anyone got examples of how they put it all together? Not sure I am doing it right or wrong :nuts:

IMG_1877.jpg

IMG_1890.jpg

IMG_1894.jpg

im not sure if you need to set your flash to anything but usually putting it onto Manual will help. Connect the receiver to the flash and then the umbrella mount. Looks like you did that ok by the pictures.

Its a shoot through umbrella so i'd advice using it at a shoot through, that way you can get the umbrella as close as you can without being seen in frame.

The idea is that the larger the light source in relation to the subject the softer the light will be.

Where to put the light? Best way to start is hold the lightstand, stretch your arm out straight and at 45degress and plonk the light down.

Set your camera to manual, 1/125th is usually the max sync on those triggers and then a low aperture and fire a test show.