First pics with new lens... need a lot of help!

Edit My Images
Yes
I'm still a beginner and have only ever used a kit lens that came with my camera! I bought a new lens and tried it out today briefly in the garden and then when my boys were in the bath.

I just couldn't get a clear picture :shrug: They looked fine on the camera and then I put them on the computer and it turns out they are actually seriously out of focus.

I tried both manual and auto focus.

Maybe it's just trying to get used to using a non-zoomy lens :shrug:

Oh well here's a couple of pictures, please give any advise/criticism you can and hopefully it will help me improve...

So this is what they were mainly coming out like..

Blurry by Chazsucks, on Flickr

But some were are blurry as this (and they definitely didn't look it at the time) :wacky:

Very blurry by Chazsucks, on Flickr

I did get one actually in focus though... not sure how?

Clearer by Chazsucks, on Flickr

What lens is it?

I am no pro but it looks like it was relatively poor lit which maybe why it struggled to focus, the last one looks well focused, you might need to adjust the white balance a little as the skin tones look a little orange.

Other than that they look like fun shots.

Heres a quick white balance adjust I did.

6661646325_ccd7256d4c.jpg

I use LighRoom, I just toned down the colours using the white balance slider. Very simple.

Hi,

You might want to up the ISO on your camera if shooting in real low light situations.

Exposure 0.017 sec (1/60)
Aperture f/1.4
Focal Length 50 mm
ISO Speed 320

Try ISO 1600 and it will increase your shutter speed to get it 'less blurry'. :)

Increasing the ISO will increase noise, but a noisy picture is better than an blurry picture.

Hope this helps,
Chris.

Shooting moving kids at f1.4 is VERY difficult. You'll get more OOF shots than in focus. I would recommend stopping down to around F2 and increasing your ISO until you can get a shutter speed of at least 1/100th second.