New 5D MK3 revealed

Sweet. Looks as though it has inherited the 1Dx AF system. This will definitely be on my wish list. Wonder when it will be available?

Last edited:
Kind of sickening we would have to pay an £800 premium over our American cousins. I suppose, 'twas ever thus.

Just seen the very keen cost 3k! Think the d800 looks a better deal, but they look very different animals.

One thing I've been saying for the past 4 years since the D700 came out as to me, that is the benchmark for a good value full frame digital body is that "canon has all the lenses than anyone in its range, all it takes for them to fix the problem in 1 swoop is 1 body and Nikon will take years if not decade to catch up with their lenses to match"

That day has come!

FF body, 1Dx AF, dual card slots. To go with my Lsssssss :D

Drool Drool. 5D Mk3 and 24mm f1.4L II...Yum! At least i get to play with it as soon as it comes into the store!!

Read ascough's review on a pre production unit.

http://blog.jeffascough.com/photographers/

Autofocus was/is probably the number one issue with the old 5D series. The AF used in the 5D and 5D Mark II is a little old in terms of technology, but that has been addressed in the 5D Mark III. Using the camera in all sorts of lighting conditions, l can honestly say that it is on a completely different planet to the 5D Mark II and I’m using a pre-production model. In a word it is awesome. There are various AF modes you can use and you can fine tune the AI-Servo modes to suit your subject. However I was only interested in single point focus in one shot mode because that is how I shoot. To be honest - I couldn’t make it miss. Low light, backlight, low contrast - it made no odds. It didn’t matter what lens was on the camera either as they all worked, and nearly all of my lenses are calibrated to other camera bodies.**

I just peed in my pants a little!