Retro Rides Meet (HDR vs Non HDR)

Name
Rich
Edit My Images
Yes
Last edited:
Cheers Carl, yeah 3 exposures at +/- 1 Stop

I still don't think i have the HDR how i want it, but i have learnt to reign it in somewhat, but there are so many options when doing HDR that i find if i spend too much time on i end up ruining the shot and have to start again

Best thing you can do with HDR, is put it down imo...

Did you shoot them in RAW? You should be able to pull detail back from the blacks with that..

Its a good meet though ay, I've only got to it once mind but there was a good collection of interesting stuff :)

Yeah, i always shoot in RAW, but as i am self taught in PP i can only do so much, and i am now trying to learn Lightroom which is totally different from anything i have used in the past, so a steep learning curve

HDR is strange though, when i'm processing the image, i really like it, but then it's only days later when i look at the images again that i see where i have gone over the top or whatever

But i find HDR works well in low light conditions due to the heavy shadows underneath the cars, that coupled with my fondness for low angled shots, i'm not sure i could get the right look with a single exposure

I might have a play tonight to see what sort of results i get on the middle exposure just using Lightroom

Right then, had another go with Lightroom and no HDR this time, what do you think of this one?

P9034321-Edit by RichPICings, on Flickr

Personally, i think i prefer the sky in the HDR image, but i prefer the look of the car in the latter non HDR

Really like this set of images, great colours and nice angles, all peppered with quite a lot of nostalgia for me too, great

Thanks Adrian, yeah it really brought back some good memories, especially the MKII Fiesta which was my first car back in the day

Oh and the MKI Transit was a bit special, it had a 3.0 Supra engine under the bonnet, hence the massive side exit exhaust