2 hours and I finally got it!!!

Name
Rob
Edit My Images
Yes
Saw that a storm was brewing tonight so set my self up under my gazebo and got my self ready to try and shoot some lightning. Now to be honest I have never done this before and to be frank i'm not really after any critique for I sat out there for two hours and at one point i nearly launched my camera across the garden. I cant believe how frustrating it was to try and capture these things? They seem to always appear when the camera was writing itself to my CF card and so I always bloody missed them!!
After nearly giving up i Finally got lucky and came out with these two. Again im just so pleased to have actually captured them and wanted to show you guys regardless of how poor they are.
Thanks

light1 (1 of 1) by box.photography@yahoo.com, on Flickr

light (1 of 1) by box.photography@yahoo.com, on Flickr

Well done! I gave up fairly quickly.

Wish I'd had the patience and a gazebo :)

It is safe to say i was rather pleased and even had to wake the wife up to show her!! She was not impressed!

Consider yourself lucky that you didn't end up looking for your camera with an endoscope in A&E

Consider yourself lucky that you didn't end up looking for your camera with an endoscope in A&E

Yep!! considering she is also pregnant and 6 days over her due date!! :exit:

Yep!! considering she is also pregnant and 6 days over her due date!! :exit:

I'm staggered you're still breathing!! :LOL:
Well done on the lightning though!

"While the camera was writing itself to my CF card"? Are you sure it was doing the writing rather than applying long exposure noise reduction?

Good captures though but I wonder how much protection a gazebo gives against a bolt of lightning...

"While the camera was writing itself to my CF card"? Are you sure it was doing the writing rather than applying long exposure noise reduction?

Good captures though but I wonder how much protection a gazebo gives against a bolt of lightning...