Critique A few of my little nutters

BMG

Edit My Images
No
Tried my hand at off camera flash with a black backdrop. Haven't tried anything like this before. Flash was mounted on a tripod, sadly without a soft box (just purchased one will have a go on Sunday). Camera settings were ISO 200/320 shutter speed 250 aperture f5.6. Any advice greatly appreciated, especially where the flash settings are concerned! As I seemed to under expose by about two stops so had to do fair bit of work in pp to recover.View attachment 18447View attachment 18449
View attachment 18450

Got to be a record 85 views and no comments :),! If anyone wishes to pass cc please feel free. Tried the same sort of thing with a white background and small soft box today. Utter disaster! Couldn't get the back ground to blow out and just created lots of shadows

I'm no pro but the lighting looks flat and not very interesting ( if you've done a lot of pp work that could be why)

On 1 & 3 you have cut one of the hands off and 2 would of been better as a full length shot IMO, a softbox will help control the shadows on the white background and trying to blow out a background with one light is difficult

There is plenty of tutorials and tips on here and use the search at the top. Just keep trying starting with one light and then building on that is the best recommended way.

Oh and 85 views and no comments is no record lol trust me!!!

Keep at it buddy

Reactions: BMG
Thanks for taking the time to reply, agree with your comments! My dear wife has offered to stand there, whilst I try and sort out settings etc! God help her!

Try increasing the exposure for #1 and reducing the contrast a bit - it might look a bit more natural. I've found photographing my youngest (<1yr) quite tricky especially with flash and found that it was underexposure and too much contrast/clarity which was causing some of the issues (oh and not being a particularly great photographer, but one step at a time, eh?)