A quick ND Filter question or 2

Edit My Images
No
Hi Guys

I have a quick question about ND filters. I understand what they do and what they are for, but I have never used them before. I have always added them in Photoshop when I needed to.

But I want to do some playing and I’m a little baffled. It seems different manufacturers have different grading for them. Is this the case or am I just getting it all wrong?

Can someone make a recommendation for density to give me a chance of getting some movement into my landscapes? Also, can I add ND filters together, sort of in a daisy chain?

Many thanks
Debs

I dont get how you can 'add them in photoshop'. An ND will obstruct a certain ammount of light, giving different shutter/aperture/iso values, something which cannot be done in photoshop.

If you buy in a square filter system you can avoid vignetting and the cost of buying a second set of filters to fit a different lens thread size. You can also stack 3 or 4 this way. You can also buy much higher quality square filters.

I went for 3-stop ND filters since it is very easy to add one or two stops, but three seems more worth while if you know what I mean.

I dont get how you can 'add them in photoshop'. An ND will obstruct a certain ammount of light, giving different shutter/aperture/iso values, something which cannot be done in photoshop.

If you buy in a square filter system you can avoid vignetting and the cost of buying a second set of filters to fit a different lens thread size. You can also stack 3 or 4 this way. You can also buy much higher quality square filters.

I went for 3-stop ND filters since it is very easy to add one or two stops, but three seems more worth while if you know what I mean.

Thanks for your advice :)