Advice please

Name
Alan
Edit My Images
Yes
As you know I'm fairly new to all this, I only have the free editing "stuff" from Picasa.

Here is a picture I took earlier & what I did to it on Picasa,

Am I heading in the right direction ????

DSC_00383.jpg

DSC_0038-1.jpg

Your thoughts please,

Nice and clear image and the horizon is straight, but lacks a little punch. It might also have benefited from better composition. Perhaps apply the rule of thirds and / or getter closer to the boat and use a wider angle. Have you tried GIMP... it gives you more PP options and is free also. http://www.gimp.org/

you on the way there one thing is to try not to have the horizon cut the photo in two move it down a bit in this shot and have a little more sky and may be a little more of the bottom.
The sky looks washed out a bit brigh some sat and contrast back in it

Chaz, with the greatest of respects, that's ruined the shot.

This is what I'd do to it...
4152378369_140b90df75_o.jpg

Last edited:
Each to there own, but to me it looks flat and 5cups in my cabinet tell me I must be doing something right

It wasn't a personal attack on your manhood, Chaz. If you think blowing out that puddle, turning the town to mush and making the sand orange is a winner then fine.

I would re calibrate it Chaz, it looks awful on mine.

Stew

Each to there own, but to me it looks flat and 5cups in my cabinet tell me I must be doing something right

Chaz, anyone can win meaningless trophies from a photography club competition, lets not get too excited.

23rd is right, your edit has completely ruined the shot. Maybe this calibrated monitor you keep banging on about is calibrated completely incorrectly since everybody else seems to see your edits in a completely different light to you. :thinking: