Beginner to portraits advice

Name
Peter
Edit My Images
Yes
I have been doing photography for two years up to now i have done Landscapes & some Street, I would really like to try doing some portrait / people photography i was just looking for some beginner's advice? I really do not know anyone who would be interested in modelling etc i live in Edinburgh so any advice about getting anyone interested in modelling would be much appreciated.

Id start with self portraits and a cheap speed light and umbrella, my profile pic was taken with a godox 350 and a shoot through umbrella

Hi Peter,
Welcome to TP. :welcome:

Start simply with natural light, then move on to a backdrop, single light and reflector. Whatever you do, don't buy a crap 'modelling kit' from Ebay or Amazon. When you're ready to buy - I'd recommend Godox.

There is lots of advice on YouTube for the beginner, but watch out for the ones that just promote kit.

For models, give these a try: https://purpleport.com/

Try looking for a local TFP facebook group in your area (Trade for Prints). Usually you'll find lots of models of all skill levels looking to build a portfolio, they will model for you in exchange for freedom to use your images in their portfolios / instagram etc.

Personally I don't think that models are good subjects for portraits, but shooting with a model is probably the best way to practice your lighting setups and other technical skills. Plus once you have some nice images to show, it makes it a little easier to approach potential subjects and gain their trust.

Last edited: