British Wildlife Centre

Edit My Images
No
I really like the second owl, but my favourite is the fox - mainly because of the beautiful light you've managed to capture there, fantastic!

Not really a fan of the effect on the first owl, and maybe the otter could have used a bit more depth of field, but great set!

That's a superb set of photos - Each one great in its own right, although #2 of the perched owl is perhaps a bit 'standard'. But I love the others.

Where is The British Wildlife Centre, please? And Canon CPS? - I'm an amateur wildlife photographer using Canon.

Thanks for the comments.

The centre is in Lingfield, Surrey. The day was one of several on different subjects organised by Canon CPS and is something new they're trying out. They're free for CPS members although it's a lottery whether you get a spot (apparently the wildlife day was four times over-subscribed). The day consisted of two shooting sessions (one the owls, the other everything else) interspersed with talks from two wildlife pros (Danny Green & Mark Sisson). Canon also brought a truckload of kit which was free to borrow for the day to try out. I used a 200-400 for the day which was a simply amazing lens.

If you're not aware of CPS then you don't actually have to be a pro to join, you just need a certain level of qualifying equipment (two bodies & three lenses at a minimum).

Thanks for all the comprehensive info, @Vertigo1 :)

I have four L lenses but only one camera body, so I don't qualify for CPS but I have now checked out the centre's website and I could join a pre-booked day for amateurs for ~£90.

Lingfield is within very easy reach from where a very good friend of mine lives, so I can invite myself to stay there a couple of nights. He shoots (only occasionally) with a Canon 5D3 so he might want to come with me.

All of your shots except #2 look totally out in the wild and I especially like #1 for the wild-n-windy atmosphere.