cameras for left handers

Do you not think it is an advantage using your dominant hand to control the movement of the camera and the zoom of the lens? (posted by a lefty!!)

Not sure. As you can probably tell from my avatar image, I am a guitarist. I am right handed - so why does my left hand do all the tricky twiddly bits on the fretboard?

Steve.

Another lefty here, right eye shooter, never even considered a 'reversed' left handed camera - would rather have my more co-ordinated hand available for manual focus duties!

to be honest its all down to how you learn it..

for example im left handed for writing (mums left handed i guess she taught me) but for everything else (scissors, mouse, throwing, etc etc..) i use my right hand because thats how ive been taught by others or how its been laid out so thats what ive used.

:plus1:

i am left handed

i have a Nikon D70, D80 and D300 and i using them fine....

its all about practice

Just to add to the melee I'm left handed and left eye dominant but don't really have a problem using normal cameras.. only problem is getting your nose squashed against the screen.

Kudos to all the rifle / shotgun shooters on here - there seem to be a lot of people who enjoy this type of shooting and photography..

What an absorbing thread. Some things you never really think about!

I am also full of admiration for those with the use of only one hand. I feel a bit ignorant for not knowing how I'd manage with a DSLR.

Anyway. Right hander here. Anti-clockwise for portraits, left eye for shooting with a camera, right eye for shooting with a rifle (many moons ago now!).

And to add more options to the mix, I wear a watch on my right hand! Right hand for pints.

I have also wondered why left handed twiddly bits on the guitar were relatively easy. I guess that's practise. My brother is a lefty, and he does pretty much everything apart from write, right handed.

!

-H