Canon 7dmk2 or 5d mk3,?

Name
Nick
Edit My Images
No
I have a mk1 7 d which I shall keep as Im happy with ,range of L glass 600f4. 300 f2.8 etc for wildlife, but think the IQ could be better? Should I go 7d mk2 or 5d mk3 . I enjoy macro ,wildlife and landscape.

Last edited:
I have no real experience with any of the cameras as I dumped Canon years ago. But, I would say it would depend on what sort of deal you can get on them and how much you are willing to pay. If money was no issue the 5D looks to be the clear winner in iq going by reviews. Being full frame you may wish to mate it with teleconverter to get your reach back for longer shots. With the D5 high iso performance and that fast glass you have a teleconverter should not be a problem. But as I say I am by no means a Canon buff.

Last edited:
The image quality from the 5D3 is better than the 7D MkII and ISO performance is comfortably better also.

However I'm impressed with the 7D MkII from the bit of messing about I've done with it.

Given that your going to keep the 7D you already have then for me it would be the 5D3. AF is excellent on it and in my opinion the files that come out of it don't need a lot of PP to get the best out of them.

In fact the only fly in the ointment if the 6FPS which is a bit slow for wildlife in my view. Having said that I bought a 5D3 to use alongside a 1D MkIV and hardly used the MkIV after so impressed was I with the 5D.

I'm just about to sell my 5D3 after buying a 7D MkII for the extra reach but I also have a 1DX so to me I will have the best of both worlds. 2 bodies that I can set up pretty much the same which some times was an issue with the 5D when I picked it up in a hurry.