elinchrom

Edit My Images
No
hello everybody...i am new to photography and have a question...

i am thinking of buying a set of elinchrom lights,for portrait photography.

what i want to know is ,which one is better ???
Elinchrom 400/400 D-Lite 4 RX Softbox Kit or
Elinchrom D-Lite One RX Softbox Kit......

thanks in advance...

D-Lite 400 has 400Ws of power - ample for most things. D-Lite One has 100Ws, one quarter the power (two stops less, similar to a big speedlite) and usually enough for home portraiture, but marginal for small groups. Otherwise identical kits.

Thanks for the info....i will probably go with the Elinchrom 400/400 D-Lite 4 RX ...Thanks

I know it's not what you asked, but if you're going with Elinchrom just because they're available from the major retailers, you might consider looking at the alternatives first.

That's a large chunk of money just for a bit of home portraiture, and there are other brands that'd be a much better buy.

Just like cameras though, putting most of your cash into the lights themselves is a mistake. I'd say about 50% of your budget on the lights, the rest will get you some interesting modifiers. It's the modifiers that give you real control (control is the reason we buy studio lights).

For £600 I'd go with a couple of 200Ws heads, decent stands, (a boom if you have space) a large octobox with grid, medium softbox with grid, a snoot, and std reflectors with honeycomb grids. A couple of brollies and reflector, reflector holder on a cheap stand.

Not as easy as clicking 'buy now' at WEX, but much more fun, much more useful, and a lot better use of cash.

Thanks Phil..i still havent decided yet,but still edging towards Elinchom....

The Elinchrom kit is decent but expensive, at their price you can pretty much consider most other brands. I do think they should include better softboxes.