first attempt - suggestions please!

Name
Maria
Edit My Images
Yes
a friend has a Harley Davidson and he asked if I'd take a few pics....

I've no experience about getting a good shot with anything like this, so picked a location I liked (forced him to push it up a huge hill to get there :LOL: good job he's a fireman :D)

Your suggestions how to improve what I've got are very welcome - I've just done a contrast/greyscale conversion in lightroom, and there's a couple more on my Flickr

thanks for looking

210bw-1.jpg

My suggestion would be not to shoot directly into the sun when it's that bright........

1) nukes part of the pic
2) get weird reflections - inside of exhaust on back wheel and tyre etc..........

might look better with the sun 3/4 over shoulder (so behind but not to the extent your shadow is in the pics)- would pick up a lot more detail in the bike that way............

looks to be an interesting seat / back end - maybe a slightly higher angle / different angle would show that off better............

think with better lighting could also really push the contrast loads to get some really shiny metal and deep dark crisp blacks.........

Last edited:
That's a very interesting Harley! It's got a suspended seat, upward slashed pipes, white wall tyres and a kick start that poor Lynton really does not wish to contemplate in his current state (It will kick back and break your leg if you are not quick!)

I'd have a chat with your mate about some of the unique features of this bike and shoot to make the most of them. He will appreciate it :)

My suggestion would be not to shoot directly into the sun when it's that bright........

1) nukes part of the pic
2) get weird reflections - inside of exhaust on back wheel and tyre etc..........

might look better with the sun 3/4 over shoulder (so behind but not to the extent your shadow is in the pics)- would pick up a lot more detail in the bike that way............