First Attempt With Flash

Name
George.
Edit My Images
No
This is my first attempt at Macro/Close Up using flash and I know it's far from perfect and I realize there is a long long way to go as yet, still it's a start.

As you can see it's of the underside of a Spider on a webb, I couldn't shoot it from the top side as this would have meant knocking a fence down to do so.

I made up a flash extender on the lines of the one Carl made out of a Pringles tube, except I made this one out of an empty Talcum Powder container (£1.00 in Asda). I cut the tapered top end to fit my speedlight head with the diffuser in place, and then cut the other end at the bottom and both sides so the base of the container hinged upwards at the top. I then cut the main body of the container from the top just behind the hinged part back at about 45 degrees at the sides to the bottom and across the bottom. This leaves an angled down aperture which I covered with kitchen towel, I also covered the hinged part with kitchen towel and when this is pulled up forms an added bounce reflector at the top. I then covered the outside of the container with black electrical tape. This is then used in exactly the same way as the one that Carl has made with the speedlight mounted on the hot shoe.

There'll almost certainly be a Mk II & possibly a Mk III version in the near future. Sorry if any of this bores you guys but this side of photography is totally new to me and I'm buzzing with it.

Thanks for looking., George.

Spider On Web (1)-1315 by G.K.Jnr., on Flickr

Hahaha glad your buzzing with it George, Yes it is addictive, did you post your flash setup in the "show us you Macro rig" section ?
Anyway Im sure even you can see there is a marked improvement in your shots with a flash, I know it has helped/improved mine.
I/we cant wait to see more of your shots.
I just noticed it has lost a leg.