First DSLR

Edit My Images
No
Hi all. Im completely new to all this so be nice!

I've just been given an old Canon EOS 1000 SLR and am thinking about getting more into photography. I want to venture into the world of digital SLR cameras as my current one is film which seems a bit dated and tbh I get the impression it will be a lot easier to practice with a digital without wasting tonnes of films and money on films.

So what are people recommendations on first DSLRs? Im thinking of a canon EOS 1000D.

I don't know much about them so any useful sites and info about what everything means would be nice!

I will be mainly using it for a bit of car photography at numerous car shows and motorsport events, and also kayaking pics. This means I want to be able to take sequence shots to a decent quality.

Any help much appreciated! :wave:

if its fps you want then the xxxD wont be your cup of tea as they can only handle around 3 fps which wont capture them car shots.

i would consider a 450d if budget is a mjor issue but you should be able to get the 40d in some places as old stock because its just gone discontinued.

You'll find other threads on a similar theme if you'd care to search the forum. Ulimately it'll be your choice, read the reviews online and narrow your options down to 2 or 3 depending on budget, but the most consistent peice of advice you will receive from this forum is to go down to the local camera shop and hold the camera. How it feels in your hand matters as much as technical merit.

i have a 1000D and found it very good for a first camera , trading upto a 450D next week so it will be up for sale shortly , body only though , keep an eye out for it :p

how much money do you want to throw at it - how do you like to eos 1000 as feel is a big issue in picking which brand to go with

how much money do you want to throw at it - how do you like to eos 1000 as feel is a big issue in picking which brand to go with