First orbs! Critique please until you are blue in the face!

Name
Paul
Edit My Images
No
Please?

Wanted to have a go at this light painting / orbs / v24 lensers etc for ages and have taken the plunge to give it some serious practice / thought and went out for only an hour tonight and came up with these 4 shots.

So, where do I need to improve on these would people say???

15032914278_6310af05b9_o.jpg

15196471816_f526410f17_o.jpg

15196471376_e0e692ce54_o.jpg

15219500735_43580c0200_o.jpg

Well, I'm no expert but they look good to me. For me, the light trails in the background of the first one are slightly distracting and the background of number 4 isn't to my taste. However the other two are really nice - I think number 3 is the pick of the bunch.

Thanks guys :) Yeah I agree that the white light trail going through the orb on the first one is annoying, my eye keeps picking that up too.

I need more practice I think to get the orbs a bit better and agree that 4's not the best but was a deliberate "product placement" shot just for posting locally on facebook etc

Indeed, we all gotta start somewhere and for trail practice shots, you've certainly got the right idea.

Incidentally, and it might just be me, but it does look like you have captured the Aureole Borealis in the first shot (or it might just be twilight with the colour balance giving it a green hue).

Last edited:
I've just googled re that friday night and the aurora etc, the shot was taken facing west though with the wide field of view there is a good section of the north west sky there admittedly, and having rechecked the original raw and the changes I made i never actually changed the colour balance specifically, the post processing was essentially upping the exposure a bit to get some sky detail as well as it being a layered shot, ie the trail on the slip road on the left third is a different layer.