First outing with the 50mm f1.8

Name
Carole
Edit My Images
Yes
As I am a spectator at gigs, not a pro, I thought the 50mm would be just right for use when I am pressed up against the barrier. On this occassion though, no security men, so I just walked into the area infront of the barrier and started shooting. Confidence is everything.........act the part and people think you are the part!! :LOL:

Love to hear your comments. I've never used a fixed focal length lens before and it was quite strange.

Andy.jpg

Johnny.jpg

Ritchie-2.jpg

Robbie2.jpg

There are more in my gallery, if you want to check them out,
Cheers,

Good stuff! Well done for having the confidence to go for it!

It helps that I know the band well...........not sure i'd have the B**** to do it otherwise! My son is pic 1.

well then, your son can point you in the direction of the promoters that puts the bands on where he plays, ask if you can photograph gigs and stuff at the venue, that was if their are any bouncers you've got the ok anyway, also means if any big touring bands play the venues you know, you can hopefully photograph them!!!!!!! thats how i did it, and ive now photogaphed bands such as biffy clyro, antiflag, idlewild, reel big fish, oceansize, embrace, the glitterati off the back of it!

they look good mate, glad you bought he nifty fifty, its great isnt it!

whats your sons band called?

You've done really well and managed to get some pretty decent shots there :clap:

Some great shots there, really like the first.

Looks like the nifty was a worthwhile purchase for you :) You've walked away with some great shots there.

I agree with whitewash, use this as a stepping stone to 'network', and get some others shots while youre there!

Like you I invested in the 1.8 and enjoying using a prime lens again - the 80mm it gives on the 350D is ideal for candids in natural lighting. Using it this evening at camera club with modelling lights to good effect.

VERY good!