First paid job........results!!

Slimbert - I think that the photos that you have posted so far are lovely, and if I had've been the client I'd be really happy with them. And I also think it's safe to say that I bet they don't notice any 'problems' with the other 50 - it's just your eye that sees them.

I think it's really sad to see yet another thread where someone is brave enough to say 'here's my first paid gig' and to be open and honest about what they've learnt from it, only to get shot-down by so-called "professionals". What ever happened to being supportive to newcomers to the industry? The OP was up front with his client from what I can see, an set the expectations from the outset. If the client wanted a more experienced professional, then they could've made the choice to do so, but they obviously felt comfortable with the OP so fair play.

And no, I'm not a professional - like all of us, I just love having my camera in hand. And I don't usually get involved in these debates, but felt quite riled by the replies on this. And if I had any thoughts about the future and my photography, I would think twice about saying so on here. Sad, so sad.

Slimbert - keep up the good work! You've got a lot of supporters on here.

Get over yourself AWP. Your pretentious attitude stinks and I am completely fed up with people like you coming along with such nasty comments as your opening post. And to follow it up by saying you felt is was "well meaning advice" is frankly garbage.

:clap:

To say that I feel threatened in any way by the OPs work is ridiculous. I stand by my comments. He should have known his equipments capabilities before doing this. He asked for comments and got them - but like a lot of people on here - they just don't like to hear the truth. The advice I have given is much more useful than just being told 'nice pics'.

Last edited:
The ams always stick together on here - I think it's they that feel threatened. Silly really.