Beginner Lens me your ears.

Edit My Images
Yes
I am a sucker for punishment, which is sending me two and fro about a lens choice.

I want to take pictures of my watch collection, I am almost there bar the lens.

choices

24 70 f4 all the shots will be using a 2 flash set up 2.8 on the 24 70 is not a problem ?
17 40 as above shorter
24 105 f4 good walkabout very versatile but is it a good product lens. ?
100mm IS Macro great lens but have to move the whole shabang rather than just zoom.
105 Sigma OS see above
Sigma 30mm 1.4 why did I choose that for the list (see 24 70)
50mm 1.8 I know I need one so that can be discounted, for now.

or am I totally missing the head banging lot.

Recommend me a lens please or at least narrow it down for me.

Please think for me.

Last edited:
I'm no expert on product photography but I believe lighting and setup is far more important than the lens, for which I'd have thought any short telephoto would do.

As Nawty has said above, the lighting and set-up is more important than the lens. I often shoot product photography (including some watches/jewelery) with an 18-105 kit lens and customers are perfectly happy with the results.

If you're doing this purely for your own interest then large aperture/shallow DOF may be of interest but when shooting commercially the trick is not to have any reflections and to have everything in sharp focus (unless the client has asked for something different, of course) so f/8-16 is the norm with the object inside a light tent. Sorry, rambled on a bit there; certainly didn't mean to teach you how to suck eggs :)

Thanks for the reply's.

I appreciate all the input and it's a bit of a re-leaf I have a couple of lens for the job, going to have a go tomorrow using 18 135 STM and the 15-85 every things arrived and I'm a patient guy, I just know the look I want without too much processing.

Ta Mark.

Last edited: