Lightroom question

Name
Sandrine
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi,
Complete beginner to photography and also new in my local camera club.
I was reading through the program for my local camera club up to December and in 2 weeks time, they're planning a Lightroom tutorial. They ask members to come along with their laptops with the Lightroom software installed on it.
I don't have Lightroom and to be quite honest, I didn't know what it was until today. I researched it and realised that this software is not a free one. Far from it.
Now I'm confused (I'm not very technologically minded) but it seems that, to use Lightroom, not only you have to buy the software but also need to pay a monthly subscription to Creative Cloud.
Am I understanding that right? Or is there a way to use Lightroom without using the Creative Cloud?
I'm wondering if I wouldn't be just better off with Photoshop Elements.
Any advice or opinion on Lightroom would be appreciated.
Thank you.
Sandrine

Last edited:
Sandrine, you right, you are a little confused :D

You get buy lightroom, with a perpetual licence, i.e. you buy / download a version and can continue to use that.
The other option, is the creative cloud photography bundle, which is £8.78 per month, which gives you the latest lightroom and photoshop. There are also extras, i.e. mobile lightroom, behance, etc. This version also means that you get the latest updates as soon as they are available.

Lightroom is a fantastic programme, in my opinion, for photo editing but also for photo cataloging.

Check out Adobe's site, where you will be able to get further information and also able to download a 30 day trial of the software.

www.adobe.com

Another thing, which can be confusing, is that the creative cloud option is not linked to an internet connection, i.e. you install the software on your computer, just like any other version, with no need to be continually connected to the internet to use.