Little owl (May)

Hi Den
A really good set of images and it is good to see your perseverance is paying off it shows what you can achieve if you put the effort in.
Regards
Richard

Hi Paul thanks for the comment ,i have found and still finding that its all down to time patience and a lot of slogging around ,from October to the end of April you dont get many oprtunities to photograph them,watching and observing is the key,you get to know them ,everything about them,something that as taken me years and i am still learning you need to get more out of it than just photographing them ,their is more to it than just throwing mealworms out,one of the key factors in my opinion is finding a Male bird in its territory although little owls are well known to mate for life they dont always share the same territory ,once you find the Male its just a case of spending as much time with them as possible,yes they can be seen during the day ,but just seeing them on a ledge 50 foot up may not be enough for you,it was for me for years but things changed a couple of years ago,with the help of a couple of people ,one was a member on here and another guy drove me on to try and get them close ,i was able to walk up to one of them to within 15 feet with my 400mm 5.6 but i was always pointing up at him,however like i said with some help and advice i persevered to try and just get him on a post ,that i eventually achieved and i was happy with that , and now i can get him to land on whatever i want ,their are tons of shots i would like to get but alas i just dont have all the top lenses ,i have to work with a 400mm 5.6 and a 300mm f4 ,but i am happy with what i am getting,its a big commitment and to answer your last question ,did you have any long waits ,yes very long,much easier in breeding season but as said my commitment is all year roundhttp://www.talkphotography.co.uk/threads/new-little-owl-thread-with-a-bit-of-info.500682/#post-5753367