Lowering ambient light to shoot car - light painting

Name
Chris Richards
Edit My Images
No
I want to photograph a car in a showroom. I am working under the following restrictions -

1. I have ZERO control over the ambient light as there are display spot lights everywhere.
2. I want to light paint the car

I've had a go, and to be honest I am very pleased with the initial results - but due to the bright ambient light, even shooting at F22, ISO 100, I can still only expose for say 10 seconds before the ambient light starts to become a problem.

So, I want to control the ambient light - ie lower it. I was thinking along the lines of using some kind of filters. I've never used filters before - only uv to protect lenses. Can anyone give me some pointers.

Many thanks.

So you can't just turn off the spot lights?....
A filter will drop your overall exposures but your still going to have the same kind of issue I would imagine unless the light your painting the car with has a higher output of light than the spot lights.

As photographers, we need to be control, as we are responsible for the quality of what we produce.

So, you need to do these shots at night, with all the lights off. It's as simple as that.

ND filters are mostly crap. The one I infrequently use was buttock-clenchingly expensive because cheaper ones suck rocks. Think nasty colour casts and screwing with your sharpness. Even if you whack a load of ND filtration in front of your lens, you'll either need a brighter light source, or proportionally longer time with the same one as you are currently using. If it's the latter, then you're back at square one with the ambient - you can't beat physics.

You're better off attacking this another way. Get the lights off or bring in some decent sized strobes.

As photographers, we need to be control, as we are responsible for the quality of what we produce.

So, you need to do these shots at night, with all the lights off. It's as simple as that.