My 1st go at Macro

You've nailed focus on all 3 so well done there but personally I'm not sure about the black backgrounds.
It isolates the subject well but for me it's just too empty, I'd prefer to see DOF used to blur a nicer background.
Of the 3 the second is by far my favourite, lovely colour and perfect use of DOF.
Great lens eh? I have the older non-OS one, which one is yours?

Last edited:
I was shooting in the house so used the black background. As im new to this haven't a clue really I invested in the 105 sigma Hsm lens from jessops for £379 brand new

Welcome to the nut house. I don't mind the black background as it highlights the colours of the flowers.

Things I would change;
#1 change the angle so its not a straight on side profile shot but composition is good.

#3 personally wouldn't have them laying on a surface.

If you like these types of shots then check out @Lez325 threads. :)

Great start look forward to seeing more.

Last edited:
I was shooting in the house so used the black background. As im new to this haven't a clue really I invested in the 105 sigma Hsm lens from jessops for £379 brand new
Hi

I'm new to macro as well, I quite like the isolation of 3, again not the easiest thing to nail the focus and get enough dof.

I'd be happy with them, oh and if you've just got it you have the new OS version

Thanks for the imput will take in onboard for future up and coming Macro

no.2 is the pick of the bunch for me. Like every genre, its an art form, so be prepared to get to get shot down in flames

Thanks for all Comments, Hoping to improve as times goes on as this my first attempt

You'll be surprised how far you can push things working up close, even stopped down to f10 or f11 the DOF at mfd is very small, so what you may normally see as 'cluttered' backgrounds aren't too much of an issue.
Yours is the newer HSM one, I may upgrade to that one at some point as £379 is a great price!
Look forward to seeing some more from you. (y)