My Boy

Name
James
Edit My Images
Yes
Only have my son on a weekend and as we had a bit of a rainy day today so got the camera our and set a softbox up and took a few pictures and got Corey to pull soe silly faces.

Now I am fairly new to lighting so a lot of it was trial and error and a opportunity to get a bit more practice. I dont have a back drop yet so just used the kitchen wall as its the only room with space to get set up living in a 2 bedroom terrace only thing is the wall is red. Dont think its come out too bad but open to CC on them all and I am looking to learn so any feedback will be taken in and try it.

Excuse his messy hair!!

1#
_MG_0288 by jamesmeephotography, on Flickr

2#
_MG_0215 by jamesmeephotography, on Flickr

3#
_MG_0241 by jamesmeephotography, on Flickr

4# Toothy
_MG_0244 by jamesmeephotography, on Flickr

5# Moody child
_MG_0267 by jamesmeephotography, on Flickr

_MG_0269 by jamesmeephotography, on Flickr

I do not know about portrait lighting and No3 looks a little dark but the last is great, shows a great personality.

Your lighting is too contrasty, and a little too high for a single light. No.3 is a good example. Look at those shadows... you can't even see his eyes. All of them ave really pronounced shadows across the face. Number 2 is working best regards lighting, but it's still far too contrasty... were you using a reflector? A simple white reflector can work wonders if held off to the other side to bounce some light back in.

They're all very dark too. I suspect your monitor is set far too bright.

Didn't have a reflector at the time of doing them but do now [emoji2] also need to get my monitor calibrated as think it's miles out.
Cheers for advice will give it another go soon

In the meantime, just turn it's brightness down a touch.

use this as a guide......

hkjWyls.jpg

Then double check with http://www.lagom.nl/lcd-test/

A calibrator is a good move though in the long term.