Neil Howard Stages @ Oulton Park

Name
Mark
Edit My Images
Yes
Looks like a good (if not very wet) day out

I'm by no means an expert in Motorsport, but i would suggest your shutter speeds may have been slightly too high on a couple of these shots (the Celica GT-4 and the 106 GTi) as you have frozen the wheel movement and they almost look like they are parked up, i presume the theory is similar to that of taking prop powered plane shots and keeping the shutter speed down slow enough to allow for the movement in the prop to be shown (some practice of a good panning technique required), otherwise they just look static, i would suggest somewhere around the 1/250th mark, but as said, i'm no expert in this particular field, more planes for me

Last edited:
Looks like a good (if not very wet) day out

Yeah it was a little damp! I was glad of the weather proofing on my new camera compared with the old 300D!

Thanks, I had previously had issues with focus & getting a sharp image with my previous camera (300D). Someone suggested a quicker shutter so I kept mostly to shutter priority started the day at a around 1/800 & did shoot quite a few at that kind of speed. I was still getting used to the new 7D somewhat also as this is the first motor sport event I've had it for.

The impreza above was about there with 250th but often there I found the camera was looking to f4 & the DoF wasn't as narrow which I was often trying for.

Hopefully I'll get this mastered next season as I've bought a season pass for Oulton Park!

Yeah, the Impreza looks spot on to my untrained motorsport eye

Out of interest, as it's something i would like to try next year, how do you go about getting access to the tracks for photography, are you just paying as a general spectator and shooting from where ever you can get access to, or do you have a special photography/press pass to get to areas not normally accessible

Good to see you started with the example from which they all should follow. :D