Neonate/newborn Adders (Vipera berus).

Name
Paul
Edit My Images
No
These images are of UK wild baby Adders/snakes, which i sighted/observed/photographed at a location in Kent.
Please do not PM/ask me for the exact location, where i observe these wild Adders.

Some photos then, all comments are welcome, cheers Paul.

Note- to appreciate the tiny size of these neonates, if coiled up, the snake could easily fit onto a 50mm lens cap!
I should also add, that at no point, did i handle/touch these stunning little beauties. All of my Adder photos (Ive been observing for several years now) are photographed, just as i find the snakes.

Neonate/Newborn Adder (uncropped). 16th-September-2014. by Testudo Man, on Flickr

Neonate/Newborn Adder (uncropped). 12th-September-2014. by Testudo Man, on Flickr

Neonate/Newborn Adder (uncropped). 8th-September-2014. by Testudo Man, on Flickr

Neonate/Newborn Adder (uncropped). 16th-September-2014. by Testudo Man, on Flickr

Neonate/Newborn Adder. 16th-September-2014. by Testudo Man, on Flickr

Last edited:
It's good to see some British snakes on here... what beautiful eyes it has and great finds but it sounds like you know where to find them.

Very good shots seems a little pee'd off with you in a couple though.

It's good to see some British snakes on here... what beautiful eyes it has and great finds but it sounds like you know where to find them.

Very good shots seems a little pee'd off with you in a couple though.

Cheers Bryn, these snakes are well known for having that pee'd off look about them. Its the shape of their "eyebrow type" area, it appears that they are frowning. Add their fantastic red/orange eye colour into the mix, and they have that fierce look about them.

Amazing find, would love to see wild snakes instead of the normal behind glass snake! Closet I've got is a slow worm.....

Great detail in the shots, what's your setup to get such a close view?