New baby coming, want to do shoot at home, what kit?

Name
Ali
Edit My Images
No
Guys, I have 3 months to get some kit together. I want to do a few shoots at home as soon as the little one is born. I have a 6D with 24-70 2.8 II L, 600RT flash and also a 580 EXii flash. Also have a 15mm 2.8, tripod etc. Should provide enough photography kit. What I need is some advice on what studio kit I should buy for a living room space at home. I have never really delved into studio stuff so I will need some guidance. Can you please recommend some affordable stuff I should be considering?

From what I know, I will need some sort of stands, backdrop, lights, props etc.

Can you please recommend brands, prices links etc so I can come up with the ultimate list of everything I would possible need?

WHat would be a bonus is if I can get some guidance on what sort of photos I should try to capture, possibly with some example?

Much appreciated.

You can just use your flashes and get some umbrellas. Checkout strobist website.

Paul, that wasnt helpful but thanks anyways.

Robert, do you think the current flashes would suffice? I thought lights would be better suited to studio work?

bet it would take more magical photos :p , but the cameras aren't great for close focus admittidly.

a lambancy or Gary Fong thing is good cheap and compact :)

Let me rephrase the question. What sort of studio kit should I aim for? I would like to get the best photos possible in a home studio set up.

Let me rephrase the question. What sort of studio kit should I aim for? I would like to get the best photos possible in a home studio set up.

See this thread in the Lighting section. You may be pleasantly surprised by how much you can do for very little money with studio flash these days. Way to go (y)
http://www.talkphotography.co.uk/threads/lens-or-lighting.563629/#post-6529685

ps Speedlites also work well with studio heads, used in positions that play to their strengths.