NEWBIE WITH DUMB QUESTION

Name
Lee
Edit My Images
Yes
Ok, here goes...

As I'm very new to the dslr scene please go easy on me here...

Got a question regarding the two kit lenses I got with my D60, basically I don't quite know what their full potentials are and I'm not sure wether to keep them or not, I really enjoy taking photos, mainly my thing is macro, portraits and trying to capture landscapes, I've bought a sigma 28-300mm from this forum just for it's versatility and I was thinking of getting a proper macro lens too, but in order to do that I would have to sell my kit lenses to fund it.

Again I must stress I'm a complete newb to dslr so I'm not up to speed on lenses and their capabilities, I was hoping some of you more experienced guys could help me out a bit with some guidance.

Thanks for your patience

Lee

Its always tempting to move up lenses but you should get to grips with what you have the VR on these is a great bonus and will make these lenses very handy more so than my kit lenses as they were pre VR.
Use what you have you can always give exstension tubes a go with the kit lens for a macro taster before saving and getting a dedicated Macro.
Practice the lanscape on the 18mm you will be suprised at what you can get with that. The 55-200 should also be good for portraits.
They are not bundled for nothing these 2 lenses cover a very wide shooting capacity.

TBH bud, I'm not sure I agree that you have gained much versatility with the 28-300. You have gained convenience and a bit of reach, but lost a lot of wide angle, and VR. A few mms make a big difference at that end, especially for landscapes. I don't think you will have done image quality any favours either.

If you want a go at macro on a budget, try a Raynox close-up lens which will do a heck of a lot with your 55-200 for about £45, so it is low risk in that respect. Extension tubes (Kenko) are also a good way, but more expensive.