Critique Nuthatch

Name
Jon
Edit My Images
Yes
Spotted it moving up a dead tree on a walk this evening. Tree was backlit but the bird moved around into different lighting conditions

I'm no expert on nature unfortunately. I like the silhouettes (although that blob of whatever it is on the first silhouette would drive me nuts)

I'm wondering what they would look like with a bit of rotation? Especially the last one going a quarter turn clockwise.

I quite like the different take with the 'spotlight' effect in #1 but the silhouettes don't work for me as wildlife shots and unfortunately the last is soft of the bird itself. :)

sorry the first 3 dont really work at all for me, first is too dark, the silhouettes could be any bird and the last shot as said is soft

Stan

Thanks for all the replies. :)

I'm no expert on nature unfortunately. I like the silhouettes (although that blob of whatever it is on the first silhouette would drive me nuts)

I'm wondering what they would look like with a bit of rotation? Especially the last one going a quarter turn clockwise.

Yes it bugs me now I've seen it. Didn't see it before I posted or I'd have cloned it out - I think it's a fly.

I quite like the different take with the 'spotlight' effect in #1 but the silhouettes don't work for me as wildlife shots and unfortunately the last is soft of the bird itself. :)

The first one is my favourite of them as well. The silhouettes were a bit of an accident as the challenging lighting made the camera create something close to that exposure and I helped it along a bit in LR. I kind of like them as they are very different to anything I've done before and I've not really seen bird or wildlife shots done like them before.

Yes the last one is a bit softer than I realised. I thought it was just noisy.

sorry the first 3 dont really work at all for me, first is too dark, the silhouettes could be any bird and the last shot as said is soft

Stan