OK then, let's see YOUR infrared images please.

Name
David
Edit My Images
No
I've been shooting digital infrared for a few years now and I see it gaining in popularity everywhere I talk about it. We have a good series at AVF, and several groups for infrared in Flickr, but now is your chance to show off in TP.

I have a Nikon D70IR at 720nm, and I mainly modify Olympus and Sony compact cameras, and have also done some Samsung, Nikon, Fuji and Canon. Im happy to offer advice on modding and editing techniques.

To kick off here is a sample set from various cameras I've used over the last few weeks :

1- The Blue Bridge on the River Nene, Northampton (WB500)
9252078059_0f8b556ffe_c.jpg

2- St Giles Church, Northampton (WB500)
9247715006_a5f9619572_c.jpg

3- Northampton Statue (WB500 mono)
9244935715_8509849cfe_c.jpg

4- Jackfield Footbridge (D70)
9212843055_7b0ab71006_c.jpg

5- Ironbridge (D70)
9215594378_92d3f999bc_c.jpg

6- St Giles Church, Northampton (Olympus C3040z 850nm)
9116161632_425b1e5d9c_c.jpg

Last edited:
Yes Dervish, I use Khromagery in Photoshop. Its a free plugin which does the swap for you.

If you increase the sats too much you introduce too much colour noise, esp at high ISOs, so I tend to leave them a tad subtle.

Big tip for colour - ALWAYS get the sun behind you :)

Hi David, still learning the IR stuff, have got a 450D converted to 665nm, i've only done a few false colour shots, as mono is my main passion, (both IR and non IR) so the majority of them go the mono way.

It's interesting what works and what doesnt, some shots come out really muddy but others just jump out from the screen. Lots more learning to do which is what makes it fun.

infrared photography always fascinates me, must try it soon, great images above :)

I know that faux colour IRs generally split opinions, but I'm really drawn to that first one of yours David.