Pine Marten (Ardnamurchan)

Name
John
Edit My Images
Yes
Some might say there's a bit of cheating going on here, as there is very little effort involved getting in these......

I'm taking these shots from the comfort of a sofa in front of a log fire (you can see the lounge fabric reflections in #2!). The feeder is immediately outside the lounge window. There's effectively no cropping here! When the Marten appears, he sets off the LED floodlights and I turn round with the camera. That said, with the weather being the way it is, there's few options for photography just now. I caught a couple of Golden Eagles earlier in the day and the results were just shocking due to lack of light. Been here three days so far and I'm impoving my night technique!! I'm totally new to night-time wildlife photography and normally just shoot wild birds.

These are with the 5Diii at 25600 ISO (!) using a 24-70 F2.8L

11512035866_d84a657642_c.jpg

11511965945_fa8e16aa2e_c.jpg

11511970585_ce81dc72a9_c.jpg

Here's the chap(ess) on the front steps as he sets off the lights before jumping-up on the feeder.

11503888405_75a17bd5d2_c.jpg

Comments and constructive suggestions gratefully received from people who do more of this sort of stuff than me!

Nice set I wish was there sounds great log fire on the go just my cup of tea were abouts are you stopping

were abouts are you stopping
The clue is in the title! The Ardnamurchan Peninsula is the most westerly point of the British mainland - South/West of Fort-William.

Frightening quality for ISO 25600!