Wild Slippery stones

Name
Sean
Edit My Images
Yes
Ok I know it's been done a trillion times before but it's my first attempt at blurring water, please feel free to make any comments, if there's any improvements I can make I'd really like to know, anyway enough of me blathering on lol.

View attachment 24598

View attachment 24599

Sean.

Last edited:
Sean

It might have been done many many times before but this is about you having a go and learning etc.
As a couple of practice shots they show the effect of a slow and slower shutter speed.

The first is over exposed as a result (see the blown grass middle right) and the second shows it was done in bright light - always difficult as you're camera is wanting to take a shot of very short duration and you are going the other way!

In terms of composition, neither shout out at me but I do like the potential of the top right of the second shot - the water looks more interesting and the cascade is an interesting shape / different to normal.

PS I have posted in your Padley Gorge thread too (y)

Blurring water (or at least how much blur you opt for) is very much a personal taste.

To me - I quite like the movement you've got going on in number 2.

There are some serious issues here though but unfortunately it's hard to comment as I can't see the settings you've used.

Overcast or even dull conditions can buy you so much leeway for this kind of photography. Generally speaking in bright conditions like this you're going to be using small apertures to get the shutter speed you need. Do you have tripod / filters ?

If you tell us your settings then you will get much more helpful feedback.

Sean

It might have been done many many times before but this is about you having a go and learning etc.
As a couple of practice shots they show the effect of a slow and slower shutter speed.