Some of my dogs.

Name
Paul
Edit My Images
Yes
It may sound stupid but it's not as easy as I thought and this is my first time I've actually tried to put some effort into taking pictures of the dogs. Somehow what I had in my head, didn't come out in my shots. to me they just look like average snaps, or is it me just expecting too much with only being a novice?

I think the hardest thing I found when the two dogs were together is composition. I'm guessing I just have to keep at it and study others work to try and improve my own.

I'm pretty pleased with them since they are not a complete flop, but I did aim to go out and get great images, not just Ok. Also there was a lot going on around, so distractions were at the max.

Anyone have any advice to help me improve? Also instead of just tweaking the curves in each shot, are there any other editing techniques that could help these images "pop"

The light wasn't brilliant at the time so I got my flash out and diffuser to about 45degrees in front of them

Thanks in advance, be as harsh as you like lol (y)

IMG_4360-2 by Peanut651, on Flickr

OOF faces....oh great
IMG_4347 by Peanut651, on Flickr

IMG_4342-2 by Peanut651, on Flickr

You have the basics, you are down at their eye level for a start, focus is on the eyes and the exposure isn't bad, though a tweak up on exposure generally and then pulling back the highlights or whites back a tad will also help, but don't beat yourself up, they may not meet your expectations yet but they aren't bad either.