Speedlight Gel Question

Name
Gary
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi All

Playing around at home with my speedlights and some gells I got.
I was trying to light one half me with red and the other with blue why you may ask, truth is I have no idea :). As you can see the red is very obvious but I couldnt get the blue anywhere near.I have read that you need the power lower on the flash to get a deeper colour but nothing seemed to make that much differance.

So can anyone shed to some light on the matter for me ?

Gaz

red_blue.jpg

ps: after adding the image to this post there does look to be blueish tint, or that maybe just me.I didnt want it to be as vivid as the red.

Cant help you myself but will be interested in the answer - ?something to do with skin being reddish already so thread gel intensifies whereas the blue one is 'fighting' the existing red.

By the way - seems a perfectly reasonable thing to try out - you (we) will learn something from, it and that has to be good:)

I'm no expert with the gels but (to me) logic dictates that the colour will be determined by power of flash, surface light lands on and the actual colour of the gel. Lighter surfaces I guess would give more pas telly colours and darker surfaces deeper colours.

I'll await an expert to explain it properly!

S

I would say, in the main always start with one light first and get it right. So take out the red light and experiment with just a single flash + blue until you get the desired effect. Depending upon the colour intensity of the blue gel you may need to stack more than one to get the right depth of colour, and low powered to start with as noted and build up (you'll need more power if you stack). I imagine some colours (i've never try to light a person with gel directly) won't take well to white skin though.