Upgrading kit

Edit My Images
No
Hi All,

Currently I am using a film SLR camera (Minolta 500si) with a 100-400m Corsina lens. Whilst this has been a great camera I now find it very limiting for some obvious reasons. I am looking at getting a Canon, and I about to take an online photography course to up my knowledge. Currently I am self-taught, and still have a HUGE amount to learn!

Please could I have advice on body, lenses etc. I need a fast FPS for action shots (sport, African wildlife), long lens for African wildlife, ideally I would like a wide angle and eventually a macro as well. My budget will be around £1200-£1500 and I would prefer to get the zoom lenses first. I know I want to stick to Canon L series IS lenses.

I have also had conflicting advice regarding extenders - some say they are great others say that you lose quality.

All help and advice greatly received.
Thanks

Hi

As you are used to your Minolta body, initially, I would head down to a good shop and try out several makes / models and see which you like the feel of and which feels most natural - controls etc, compared to what you are used to - this will give you a head start on at least the make of body you wish to proceed with - don't forget about Sony as they bought the Minolta fitment, so your old lenses may work ?

Next decision is size of body - the 400 / 450 / 500D are smaller than the 40 / 50D range in Canon - I think this is similar for Nikon as well.

Hope this is of some help and good luck with your search (y)

Thank you so much for that, I will go into a shop. Unfortunately I think my old lens is dirty - and I cannot seem to clean it. I would also like IS - which this one is not so I am prepared to get all new kit. Is it worth going second-hand? What should I look out for if I do?

Thank you again!
L