Which flashes offer E-ttl wireless

Name
Brad 'Electron-Don' Foster
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi, im pretty new to all this flash stuff, i have a Metz 44-AF-4C which is a great on camera flash, but i cont figure out (pretty sure it can't be) how to make it fire off the camera, i thought that one of the little sensors behind the red bit at the front was a sync flash thingy that would detect my onboard flash and fire the Metz as a slave, but it wont.

So anyway, i am now looking at getting a new flash, seeing as i have to buy a new one, i would really like it to work ettl wireless with my 600d, (is that right?)

My question is, is it only canon flashes that work like this with the 600d, or is there other, aftermarket, cheaper flashes that will offer the same versatility. Such as the Youngnou or some other Metz, or do i jsut have to drop the bomb on a £200 430exii.

if i have gotten all this completely wrong then i apologise

Thanks for the help, Brad.

The 600d can control other flashes optically. So any of the other flashes with ETTL would work ie: Yongnuo 568ex II (or the first version the MkII offers HSS)
Godox V860C lithium Ion and ETTL. Nissin Di866. This is just a few of many.
You could always buy a set of triggers for total control and better range

Hi, I've just done some googling and sorry to say, dump Metz!

The 600D will control a slave flash via the pop up, but I don't believe the 44_AF_4C will will work as a slave. Some reviews question it's performance in ETTL as well.

The 430II will serve you well, they do pop up in the classifieds occasionally ;)

Keep looking :)

Any Metz from the Metz 48 AF-1 upwards to the Metz 64 AF-1 will work as slave ETTL flashes, except the Metz 54 AF-1. The Metz 44 has an Infra Red receiver, so needs an IR transmitter to work as a slave

http://technoclopedia-canon-eos.com/index.htm?/frames/flashes_metz.htm