Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo

Name
Paul
Edit My Images
Yes
Went on my first trip to a butterfly Zoo
I'm fairly happy with the shots, most have been cropped and some have had the levels/contrast tweaked, as I'm fairly new to photography I'd like comments on what i could do to improve.
Camera D90 & lens was a Sigma 105mm macro a SB600 flash was used.

5776344008_3cf2544d26.jpg
[/url] Morpho Peleides by lloydie1963, on Flickr[/IMG]

5775746359_d457a8b315.jpg
[/url] Morpho Polyphemus by lloydie1963, on Flickr[/IMG]

5775743111_fa2aa85274.jpg
[/url] Mormon Butterfly by lloydie1963, on Flickr[/IMG]

5775739275_cc6a1b1b15.jpg
[/url] Owl Butterfly by lloydie1963, on Flickr[/IMG]

5775735995_a147a15286.jpg
[/url] Siproeta Stelenes by lloydie1963, on Flickr[/IMG]

Last edited:
Thanks for the kind comments, like i said I'm fairly new to all this and learning all the time. A lot of shots were taken, lots with a wing tip or body slightly out of focus which would otherwise made for a good shot.

Nice set- may I ask how did you keep the lens from misting up in that hot damp place :shrug: I use the same lens- great aint they?

Les (y)

I had no problems at all with misting on the lens, I did put the screw on hood onto the lens whether this made a difference or not I cannot say but there was plenty of moisture about, see image

5776357484_df71d98f4b.jpg
[/url] Tropical plant by lloydie1963, on Flickr[/IMG]

The lens is superb, I had some great results at a friends wedding recently (shots from the chest up) that were pin sharp,

Last edited:
I think overall its a really great set of images, you have done a great job with nice focus, lovely sharp butterfly's a couple of things that I have noticed is that on #2 it is cropped a little tight at the top and #6 is a little be lost in the image because the black on the wings merges into the BG a little but then that is because of the butterfly more than you (y)