Critique A few from last week

Name
Andy
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all,

Last week I managed to get a few shots I am quite happy with. But, I'd really like to work on improving and developing, so any critique is welcome, as I would like to use it to get better!

All the pictures were taken with a Canon 60D and 100m 2.8 in natural light. I have processed them in lightroom and done a tiny bit of photoshop,but I am a complete beginner with both.

pool_1.jpg

outside.jpg

Tree.jpg

Hair.jpg

With Number 3, I think cropping closer might work

I debated included 4 because the shutter speed was a little slow, and focus not quite spot on. But it is one I still like because of how the wind has taken her hair. But, any critique is welcome!

Thanks!

Thanks Orangecroc,

The Apertures were:
1 - f/2.8
2 - f/4
3- f/4
4- f/4

I agree with the shallower DoF, I think more seperation between subject and back drop might have helped. I think the crop sensor also may have made the DoF slightly less shallow than it could have been, making me wonder what a FF sensor would have done with the image (and makes me think about FF too much!).

I really enjoyed taking them though, and now I've got my set up somewhat sorted, I'm chomping at the bit to start taking photos and improving.

This is exactly the sort of photography I have been pursuing. I started out with landscape photography so a lot of my influences come from that background and I used to look at a scene and decide what I didn't want in the image. I have applied this tactic with my people photography which brings me to the very first image in your set, I would have avoided the blue down pipe or cropped it out or even cloned it. Your 3rd image could do with a little added light on her face. keep up the good work and don't take my advice too seriously as I'm still a beginner myself.