Critique A few snaps

Edit My Images
Yes
These are some of the photos I took of my youngest. I'm still learning the camera but critique and pointers are always welcome.
The first one bothers me because of the white top that pulls the eye to it.

40649815190_b3cac8159f.jpg

40649814840_9020466f25.jpg

40649815590_b853a68868.jpg

Last edited:
This one as well. I don't know whether it's better in colour or B&W. Unfortunately I realised too late that she had an 'invisible arm' so had crop quite a bit.
41557232625_30b5392b4f.jpg

41736620834_377a862ecd.jpg

I would say that you are being a little harsh on yourself, by calling these 'snaps'. They are lovely photos, but I see what you mean about the white area in pic no.1. I'm sure there is an easy way to edit that out or even tightly crop the image.
I prefer the colour image to the b&w, but don't ask me why:confused:

Please take what you like etc, etc....

1 is fine with the white bit at the top IMO - it's more the white bit coming out of her shoulder that's an issue. I think positioning your subject at the other end of the frame may have worked better. Bit more space to the left (the direction her body is facing).
2 is really nicely lit and creative use of depth of field is noticeable (in a good way) with errant hairs being a bit more out of focus than in #1. Personally, I find it a bit of a tight claustrophobic crop. Maybe a bit more space above her head, and to the left and/or right. Maybe even a centre posed subject would have worked here in a 3:2 format. Expression is very... expressionless...
3 is the best of the set for me. The tight crop works, and could probably be even tighter, lifting the bottom up to the chin line (or even higher). Lighting is really nice, expression is lovely and engaging. Background is black on one side and messy on the other, but because you're in close, it doesn't matter so much