A Weekend of Mushrooms

Name
Carl
Edit My Images
Yes
Haven't used my digital gear since March so I thought I would head down to Thorncombe Wood near Dorchester on Sunday to take some photos of some mushrooms with my girlfriend. We had so much fun we decided to go to Swell Wood near Langport the next day too. All of these were taken on a EOS 5DmkII with Sigma 105mm f/2.8 Macro.

I don't have a lot of experience with macro work, and this is my first time shooting mushrooms, so any critiques or comments are welcome and appreciated. :)

-1-

Thorncombe Wood Mushroom
by Carl Hall, on Flickr

-2-

Thorncombe Wood Mushroom
by Carl Hall, on Flickr

-3-

Swell Wood Mushrooms
by Carl Hall, on Flickr

-4-

Swell Wood Mushroom
by Carl Hall, on Flickr

-5-

Swell Wood Mushroom
by Carl Hall, on Flickr

-6-

Swell Wood Mushrooms
by Carl Hall, on Flickr

Nice set. Good clarity, I like the soft, mellow colours and some good subject separation. I like your eye for composition, although for my taste I might have (subject to what else might or might not have come into the frame) put a little more space above the subject in the first one and might have tried moving slightly to the left when capturing #4 so as to avoid the darker area at the top left which makes for a slightly uncomfortable (to my eye) boundary/area rather near to the subject which is out of keeping with the rest of the background and draws my eye away from the subject a bit.

The last one stands out for me. I very much like that.

I particularly like shot 3, I like the framing that you have achieved for that shot. A great idea and something which I might keep in mind. Mind you, I don't the the fungi knowledge that you seem to have!