Critique Absolute beginner trying to improve from point and click

Name
Dan
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi All

I am an absolute beginner and am trying to teach myself how to improve my photography, mainly from the internet. I would really appreciate any feedback on this image to help me learn where I need to improve most and where I am on the right track. The photo was taken as a memory of a holiday with my girlfriend but I would really like to improve these from thoughtless snaps to well composed and captured images that I would want to look at again and possibly get printed to hang somehwere in the house.

Camera: Canon 40D
Lens: 18-55mm Kit lens

The things which I do not like about the shot are -
- The exposure on her right arm, I think it is overexposed
- The tree in the background, I wish I had taken this with a faster lens at a lower aperture to blur it slightly more but I dont have one yet.

The thing that I really like about the photo is the contrast between the orange horse and the blue sea, it looks appealing to me and is the main reason I kept it in colour instead of B and W.

Any comments and criticisms will be greatly appreciated, especially as I realise it is a very average photo but we all have to start somewhere!

Dan

Last edited:
Hi Dan,

The shot is a tad overexposed (as you have noticed in the arm). Basically that means the highlights are "blown" (no detail). Therefore try to retain some highlight detail. You can shoot multiple different exposures in manual (bracketing) with the aim of getting one spot on.
The tree growing out of the subject's head is not ideal although you may have been limited in where you could have stood to avoid that.

Perhaps also crop the botton of the pic nearer the horse's chin. The idea is to confine the shot to the main subject, i.e. person and animal - that concentrates the viewers eye on the subject.

You will get better image quality control if you shoot in RAW, but that is another subject.