Advice on Schedule one application etc

Name
Stu
Edit My Images
Yes
I thought this might be worth asking for two fold reasons,I might get myself a chance shortly at some BOP and it also raises awareness of the fact the some birds have protection that image makers need to be aware of.

For me personally i've known of a site since I've been doing this where they breed. I have little knowledge of what might be asked of me. I would hope I have enough awareness of the birds and field craft to not impinge on my subjects

So any thoughts please advice anything really,obviously I need to read up a bit but thought this is one really worth asking you good folks about as some must have had first hand experience.

Many thanks

stu

They seem to have moved to an online system that doesn't provide much information without registering first. I recall they want to see both a history of successful nest photography for non-schedule 1 and a referrals from previous S1 licence holders. So you need to be friends with someone who has recently held a licence anyway who is prepared to vouch for you, and they'd presumably be able to give insight to the application process..

Edit: the paper version of the application
https://www.gov.uk/government/publi...for-a-licence-to-disturb-them-for-photography

Last edited:
In terms of Schedule 1 licence for any Bird of prey this year it may already be too late. For red kite in wales I was asked to put the hide up in the winter before nesting at a site which was used regularly. This meant land owner permission was essential and the site both secluded and away from public gaze. Interference by well meaning or otherwise members of the public(nests are still robbed for both eggs and young) is a real problem which the licensing body will want to be sure you have covered.
I was refused a licence for one peregrine site for this reason but granted at 2 other sites.