AVG Free anti virus

RobertP

TPer Emeritus
Name
Robert
Edit My Images
Yes
I've been using this without problem for a couple of years now.

Just lately it seems to have taken to deleting or flagging trojans in files that have been on my system for, in some cases, years. I really don't believe I have any problems. To confirm it I have run the Kaspersky free download scanner and that came up clean. Spybot, hijack this, etc all clean too.

The most recent files it does not like are the Canon DPP update files that were downloaded direct from Canon about a year ago!

Just wondering if anyone else that uses AVG is seeing anything similar?

I'm about to replace my main HDD and do a new install so it would be a good time to change. Barclays offers fprot (i think) free to users so I might give that a go. No way I'll go near Norton products again - the AV might work well but is such a slow down.

So thoughts?

Ive used AVG free for years too, Robert, and lately getting lots of viruses which heal, then re-appear.

I have paid £14 for a year of Prevx1 and it works a treat.... I have it working alongside AVG and there are no viruses or malware now.

Used AVG for a long time but without fail after some time in use it would start to screw up, so I swapped away and I've been using bitdefender for nearly two years now without incident, it's anti virus and firewall in one. not free but worth every penny imo.

I've had no problems with AVG, currently using 7.1 but i'm being prompted to change to 7.5free in January.

I've also been using it for years without problem.

Well I say without problem as it VERY rarely find anything on my pc, maybe I'm very careful about which sites I go to and what I download or maybe it just does not work :LOL:

I have upgraded to 7.5 a month or so back without problem.

:agree: , been using AVG since I spent a day deleting McAfee from my machine.

Now that is a pile of steaming :bang: