B&W conversion - help needed

Name
Irina
Edit My Images
Yes
i am new to all post processing and currently using mobile version of LR and PH

Whenevr i try to convert image to b&w i dont get the result that i am happy with, but that might be because i am not using the right tools.

For example i've used "silvered" filter in PH for image nr 1 and b&w contrast 75 for image nr 2
In first example the face appears bit too bright and 2nd just does not look right
(Original also attached)

Any tips?

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

Edit:

Ive used warmth opposed exposure (did not know that i could do that!) and pulled down bit more blacks and shadows and now happy with the result
image.jpeg

Last edited:

Basics — a good conversion…
  • always starts with the right colours
  • always starts with the properly set DRL
Once these correctly established, NEVER DESATURATE
but convert to B&W as you will be presented a 6 colour tool
box where the magic of cooking all happens!

A suggestion from your colour JPG…
not knowing the look you're after,
you could do better with the RAW!

irenpppp.jpg

Last edited:
Thanks Kodiak!
What do you mean by right colours?

I am more after brighter, learer look, like my example nr 1, but with more defined facial features

Basics — a good conversion…
  • always starts with the right colours
  • always starts with the properly set DRL
Once these correctly established, NEVER DESATURATE
but convert to B&W as you will be presented a 6 colour tool
box where the magic of cooking all happens!

A suggestion from your colour JPG…
not knowing the look you're after,
you could do better with the RAW!

irenpp.jpg

What do you mean by right colours?
Not meaning at all that your colours are wrong but
that improper WB will cast inappropriate shades of
grey on your image.
I am more after brighter, learer look, like my example nr 1, but with more defined facial features
Cool! I have edited my post reflecting more brightness
since I didn't know. :)

Last edited: