Band shots in studio

Name
Neil
Edit My Images
No
My mates in a covers band and asked me to take some photos of them, after watching several thousand videos on youtube i took some photos. I wasnt happy with the whole set or how it went and probably made lots of mistakes. Working in my lounge is a little tight and cramped.

feel free to rip the heck out of them and me i have some thick skin

NPH_0297 by Neil Hinder, on Flickr

NPH_0387 by Neil Hinder, on Flickr

NPH_0492 bw by Neil Hinder, on Flickr

NPH_0446 by Neil Hinder, on Flickr

Untitled-3 by Neil Hinder, on Flickr

NPH_0476 by Neil Hinder, on Flickr

NPH_0264 by Neil Hinder, on Flickr

NPH_0186 by Neil Hinder, on Flickr

Not a bad attempt, and I'm no expert, but they seem a bit too portraity for a band, if that makes sense.
I think they need to be more dramatic looking from a lighting point of view.

Not a bad attempt, and I'm no expert, but they seem a bit too portraity for a band, if that makes sense.
I think they need to be more dramatic looking from a lighting point of view.

completely and totally agree. Was supposed to have a smoke machine but it didnt work! i also wanted to shoot outside but weather wasnt great. Im going to take some live ones next month for them.

They are however a cover band for weddings so they need to look kind of less bandy as well. But i do whole heartily agree with you

Agree, not a bad attempt and you're probably restricted by the size of your room. An alternative to photographing a gig is using a rehearsal room. Some rehearsal studios, such as Pirate, have stages where you can set up as a band for the live look but are not hampered by punters and you can get in close to the band.